News Feed

TV Academy Inducts Six new members into the silver circle.

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS), San Francisco/Northern California Chapter is inducting six new members into the chapter's distinguished Silver Circle in 2004, recognizing individuals who have spent over 20 years making significant contributions to the industry. The inductees include: Lloyd LaCuesta (KTVU FOX 2), Greg Lyon (KRON 4), Doug Murphy (KPIX CBS 5), George Osterkamp (CBS News), Jennifer Smith (KXTV ABC 10) & Pamela Young (KITV 4). Ballots were sent to 125 living members of the 165-member Silver Circle.

Inductees of the Silver circle will receive a certificate, lapel pin and honorary life membership in the Academy.

This year's ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, October 16th, 2004 at the Radisson Miyako Hotel in San Francisco. The master of ceremonies for the event will be KTVU consumer editor/reporter Tom Vacar who was inducted into the Silver Circle in the class of 2003. A no-host reception begins at 11am, with the lunch and induction ceremony following at noon. Tickets to the event are $55 with a $5 discount for NATAS members until October 1st. The ticket price then will be $60 non-members and $55 for NATAS members.

Advance ticketing is required. You will have the choice of a chicken, salmon or vegetarian entr'e.

Contact the Academy office at 650-341-7786 or e-mail at for reservations and/or more information.

Complete photos and bios are included below.

Silver Circle Inductees:

Before coming to KTVU in August 1976, Lloyd LaCuesta worked as a writer/editor for KNX/CBS Radio in Los Angeles and as a writer/producer for KABC-TV in Los Angeles and KGO-TV in San Francisco. He now reports news stories from the greater San Jose area, as KTVU's South Bay bureau chief. He has won Emmy Awards, received honors from the Peninsula Press Club and the Associated Press. Lloyd has been very active in bringing more minorities into the field of journalism. He is a past National President of the Asian American Journalists Association and was the first National President of Unity '94, which organized the first National Convention of America's Asian, Black, Hispanic and Native American Journalists.
GREG LYON Reporter KRON 4.
Print journalism and radio reporting provided the background that allowed Greg Lyon to move into the business of television as a news writer/producer at KGO-TV in 1976. A year later he was at KRON taking on such assignments as news writer, field producer, line producer, investigative reporter, business reporter and executive producer. At KRON he acquired several awards including the 1998 RTNDA Award for Best News Reporting, and 1998 Breaking News' award from the NorCal SPJ. For his work on The War Within he received a Dupont-Columbia Award, a first place Robert F. Kennedy in Television news, an Award of Special Merit from the Academy Awards and a CINE Golden Eagle. He has also received 12 regional Emmys and six other RTNDA awards.
DOUG MURPHY Anchor/Reporter KPIX CBS 5.
Veteran KPIX 5 anchor and reporter Doug Murphy co-anchors the Eyewitness News Weekend Editions. He started in 1982 at first as a reporter then anchoring in the late eighties. Doug's career began at Ohio State University doing color commentary for Ohio State football games. He moved to WBNS-TV in Columbus, Ohio to work as a sports reporter, booth announcer and weatherman. Then it was on to Houston where he was a sportscaster and reporter. In 1977 he began anchoring the first Live on 5 show in the country. While at KTRK-TV, Doug won several Associated and United Press awards for best sports reporting. At KPIX, Doug won an Emmy as well as numerous AP and RTNDA awards. Most recently he was awarded the 2004 APTRA of California and Nevada, Bill Stout Memorial Award for Excellence in Spot News Coverage.
George Osterkamp has molded and mentored several generations of news reporters, producers, writers and managers from his current position as a CBS network news producer in the San Francisco Bureau (since 1982), as KRON's Washington, D.C. Bureau Chief (1979), as production assistant, producer/director and finally news director of the legendary nightly news program Newsroom at KQED, the first daily news program on a public TV station (off and on from 1968 to 1979) and as producer at KPIX (1972-76). Along the way, George has picked up three National Emmys (with CBS News), a Columbia-DuPont Citation, and nine local Emmys. He also was a member of the first Courts and Media committee of the California Supreme Court that opened courts to cameras. George just returned from another stint field producing for CBS News in Iraq.
JENNIFER SMITH Anchor/Reporter KXTV ABC 10. Jennifer Smith currently co-anchors News10 at 6:00 and News10 Midday. She has been with KXTV since 1980. She has been recognized with two Emmy Awards in the Best Newscast category. She has also received awards from AP and RTNDA for the best newscast in California as well as the National Headliners Award for best half-hour newscast in the country. Jennifer has also been recognized by area business and professional clubs as Young Career Woman of the Year and Woman of the Year. Before coming to News10, Jennifer worked as a reporter and anchor at WSET in Lynchburg, Virginia and WWBT in Richmond, Virginia.
PAMELA YOUNG Anchor/Reporter KITV 4.
Born and raised in Hawaii, Pamela Young came to the mainland to get her education at SF State, graduating in 1973 with a Master's degree. Securing her first job at KPIX as a reporter for . All Together Now in 1975, she has risen steadily within the industry to her present position. After a 4-year stint at KQED (1976-1980), she returned to Hawaii to work at KHVH News Radio, KHON, KGMB and KITV. She has 8 Emmys to her credit; a George Foster Peabody award (81); 7 Society of Professional Journalists awards and many other honors. She and her husband Gary Sprinkle sponsor an annual Mixed Plate Scholarship Program at Kapiolani Community College. Active in many community service programs, Pamela is also NATAS Vice-President in Hawaii.